Squads Announced

Monday 11 November 2013 14:00

Attentions turn to the international scene this week, with a series of FIFA World Cup Play-Offs and friendlies taking place.

And with Craven Cottage playing host to Italy v Nigeria on Monday 18th November (7.45pm), both national sides have announced the squads which will be travelling to SW6 for the match.

A flurry of familiar names are included for four-time World Cup winners Italy, with the likes of team captain and Juventus goalkeeper Gianluigi Buffon, AS Roma midfielder Daniele De Rossi, and playmaker Claudio Marchisio all selected. Not short of quality in depth, the Azzurri will also travel to Craven Cottage – following their international friendly with Germany this Friday – armed with their talisman Andrea Pirlo, who was recently shortlisted for the FIFA Ballon d’Or, and former Manchester City striker Mario Balotelli.

Nigeria have also selected a strong pool of players for their international games, as they look to confirm their qualification for next year’s World Cup with victory over Ethiopia ahead of their trip to South-West London.

Familiar faces to the Premier League John Obi Mikel, Victor Moses and Shola Ameobi each take a place in the squad for the current Africa Cup of Nations Champions, while goalkeeper Vincent Enyeama, who is enjoying a fruitful period in France with Lille, will leapfrog Nwankwo Kanu into second place in the appearance standings for Nigeria, should he play against both Ethiopia and Italy. The match against Italy will be Super Eagles coach Stephen Keshi's first friendly against European opposition since he took charge of the side in November 2011.

Tickets are priced from £25 for adults and from £15 for under 16s.

Italy squad

Goalkeepers: Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus), Federico Marchetti (Lazio), Salvatore Sirigu (Paris Saint-Germain)

Defenders: Ignazio Abate (AC Milan), Andrea Barzagli, Leonardo Bonucci, Angelo Ogbonna (all Juventus), Domenico Criscito (Zenit St Petersburg), Christian Maggio (Napoli), Manuel Pasqual (Fiorentina), Andrea Ranocchia (Inter Milan)

Midfielders: Antonio Candreva (Lazio), Daniele De Rossi, Alessandro Florenzi (both Roma), Alessandro Diamanti (Bologna), Emanuele Giaccherini (Sunderland), Claudio Marchisio, Andrea Pirlo (both Juventus), Riccardo Montolivo, Andrea Poli (both AC Milan), Thiago Motta (Paris Saint-Germain), Marco Parolo (Parma)

Forwards: Mario Balotelli (AC Milan), Alessio Cerci (Torino), Alberto Gilardino (Genoa), Lorenzo Insigne (Napoli), Pablo Daniel Osvaldo (Southampton), Giuseppe Rossi (Fiorentina)

Nigeria squad

Goalkeepers: Vincent Enyeama (Lille), Austin Ejide (Hapoel Be’er Sheva), Chigozie Agbim (Enugu Rangers)

Defenders: Elderson Echiejile (Sporting Braga), Benjamin Francis (Heartland), Efe Ambrose (Celtic), Solomon Kwambe (Sunshine Stars), Godfrey Oboabona (Rizespor), Azubuike Egwuekwe (Warri Wolves), James Okwuosa (Chippa United), Kenneth Omeruo (Chelsea)

Midfielders: John Obi Mikel (Chelsea), Victor Moses (Liverpool), John Ogu (Academica de Coimbra), Ogenyi Onazi (Lazio), Nnamdi Oduamadi (Brescia), Nosa Igiebor (Real Betis), Sunday Mba (Enugu Rangers), Reuben Gabriel (Kilmarnock)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow), Brown Ideye (Dynamo Kyiv), Shola Ameobi (Newcastle United), Emmanuel Emenike (Fenerbahce), Obinna Nsofor (Lokomotiv Moscow), Bright Dike (Toronto)