2013/14 Squad Numbers

Thursday 5 September 2013 09:00

With the new season underway and the transfer window now closed, the Club can confirm the official squad numbers for the 2013/14 Barclays Premier League campaign, with notable changes for Bryan Ruiz and Alexander Kačaniklić.

Ruiz has taken the illustrious number 10 shirt following the departure of Mladen Petrić – the number that he wears internationally when he captains Costa Rica. He follows in a long line of popular Fulham faces to wear number 10, most famously our greatest player Johnny Haynes, in addition to the likes of Rodney Marsh, Ray Houghton and Gordon Davies (in his second spell at the Club).

Kačaniklić, meanwhile, will now occupy the number 11 jersey – the traditional digits for a left-winger. Having broken into the Fulham First Team midway through the 2011/12 campaign, Kača has made no secret of his desire to nail down a First Team berth, and he’s seemingly on the right track having been awarded the shirt previously worn by Tosh Chamberlain, Luis Boa Morte and Zoltan Gera.

Our new midfield enforcer Derek Boateng takes 23, a number first made famous at Craven Cottage by another box-to-box workaholic, Sean Davis. Since the local boy left Fulham in 2004, the shirt was worn almost solely by Clint Dempsey and has been vacant since his departure to Tottenham Hotspur a year ago.

Adel Taarabt will take the number 19 shirt, the same jersey he wore when he made his debut in English football with Spurs, while Fernando Amorebieta adopts 35 to become the first centre-back to sport that number since Ian Pearce, who coincidentally also wore 19 during his time in SW6.

Striker Darren Bent will adopt 39 – a shirt number he also initially wore at Aston Villa following his record breaking move from Sunderland - and midfield enforcer Scott Parker takes 28 after he joined on a three-year deal from Tottenham Hotspur.

Maarten Stekelenburg has worn the same number as Edwin van der Sar at Ajax and with the Netherlands, and he follows suit at Fulham, too, as he unsurprisingly will wear the No.1 shirt throughout the season.

And deadline day signing Elsad Zverotic will have the number 22 on his back, which was vacated by the departing Csaba Somogyi last season.

In the only other squad number changes, Marcello Trotta has dropped 10 digits to wear 29, while Chris David has moved from 32 to 30. Jack Grimmer, Muamer Tankovic, Buomesca Tue Na Bangna and Charles Banya have all retained the same numbers they were allocated last season while back-up goalkeepers Jesse Joronen and Marcus Bettinelli have been handed numbers 41 and 40 respectively.

Full list of Fulham squad numbers:

1. Maarten Stekelenburg

3. John Arne Riise

4. Philippe Senderos

5. Brede Hangeland

7. Steve Sidwell

8. Pajtim Kasami

9. Dimitar Berbatov

10. Bryan Ruiz

11. Alexander Kačaniklić

13. David Stockdale

14. Giorgos Karagounis

15. Kieran Richardson

16. Damien Duff

17. Matthew Briggs

18. Aaron Hughes

19. Adel Taarabt

20. Hugo Rodallega

21. Kerim Frei

22. Elsad Zverotic

23. Derek Boateng

24. Ashkan Dejagah

27. Sascha Riether

28. Scott Parker

29. Marcello Trotta

30. Chris David

35. Fernando Amorebieta

36. Buomesca Tue Na Bangna

38. Neil Etheridge

39. Darren Bent

40. Marcus Bettinelli

41. Jesse Joronen

42. Charles Banya

43. Muamer Tankovic

44. Jack Grimmer

Related Content