Squad Numbers

Friday 7 August 2015 11:15

On the eve of the 2015/16 Sky Bet Championship season, we are able to confirm our official squad numbers for the campaign ahead.

A number of magnificent goalkeepers have worn number one for Fulham over the years, and Marcus Bettinelli will now inherit the jersey. The 23-year-old established himself as Kit Symons’ first choice between the sticks last term, and he’ll now don the shirt that’s been worn by the likes of Tony Macedo, Gerry Peyton, Jim Stannard, Maik Taylor, Edwin van der Sar and Mark Schwarzer.

There’s a new number two in the ranks as well, with Jazz Richards taking the shirt traditionally given to a right-back. It’s the first time the Wales international has been allocated two, having worn 29 for both Fulham and parent club Swansea City last season.

Season-long loan signing Luke Garbutt may currently be sidelined with an ankle injury, but the number three shirt will be waiting for him on his return. It’s the same top the left-back wore for England during this summer’s European Under-21 Championship in the Czech Republic.

Shaun Hutchinson, Nikolay Bodurov, Scott Parker and Matt Smith remain unchanged at four, six, eight and nine respectively, but Tom Cairney is our new number 10 following his summer arrival from Blackburn Rovers. The midfielder had played with 45 on his back for the majority of pre-season, but the departure of Bryan Ruiz freed up the number he’d occupied last season at Ewood Park.

Our latest signing Sakari Mattila has taken 14, although he’s not the first Finland international to wear that number as it was once occupied by Shefki Kuqi who spent the first half of the 2007/08 campaign on loan at Craven Cottage.

Kay Voser and Cauley Woodrow have stuck with their digits from last year, but George Williams has dropped from 27 to 17 – a shirt which has seen a variety of incumbents in recent years, with the likes of Tomasz Radzinski, Liam Rosenior, Bjorn Helge Riise and Martin Djetou all donning it at one time or another.

Ben Pringle impressed for Rotherham United wearing number 18 last season, and he’ll be sticking with those digits in the white of Fulham this term, while fellow midfielders Ryan Tunnicliffe and Lasse Vigen Christensen keep 19 and 21.

Adam Taggart has jumped five digits from 17 to 22 – the number he wore for Newcastle Jets in 2013/14 when he won the A-League Golden Boot and the Young Player of the Season award. He also uses it in his Twitter handle, @adamtaggart22.

On his professional debut on loan at Chesterfield 10 seasons ago, Jamie O’Hara was given the number 23 jersey, one which he will wear again this season for the Whites, while fellow free signing Andrew Lonergan will don 24, as he did for the last three years at Bolton Wanderers.

Moussa Dembélé stays at 25, but for the second consecutive season Jack Grimmer drops down, this time to number 26. In midfield, Thomas Eisfeld will now wear 27, but Emerson Hyndman and Sean Kavanagh remain at 28 and 32 respectively. There’s also no change for centre-back Dan Burn, who will wear 33 for the third consecutive year.

In a season hampered by injury, Larnell Cole was without a squad number in 2014/15 but will be hoping for better fortunes this term after being allocated the 34 shirt. The remaining players with squad numbers – Cameron Burgess, Jesse Joronen, Marek Rodák, Ross McCormack and Magnus Norman – have all kept the shirts they wore last year.

Full list of Fulham squad numbers

1. Marcus Bettinelli

2. Jazz Richards

3. Luke Garbutt

4. Shaun Hutchinson

6. Nikolay Bodurov

8. Scott Parker

9. Matt Smith

10. Tom Cairney

11. Alexander Kačaniklić

14. Sakari Mattila

15. Kay Voser

16. Cauley Woodrow

17. George Williams

18. Ben Pringle

19. Ryan Tunnicliffe

21. Lasse Vigen Christensen

22. Adam Taggart

23. Jamie O’Hara

24. Andrew Lonergan

25. Moussa Dembélé

26. Jack Grimmer

27. Thomas Eisfeld

28. Emerson Hyndman

32. Sean Kavanagh

33. Dan Burn

34. Larnell Cole

38. Cameron Burgess

41. Jesse Joronen

42. Marek Rodák

43. Liam Donnelly

44. Ross McCormack

46. Magnus Norman

TBC. Fernando Amorebieta