Family Club Of The Year Winner

Sunday 17 April 2016 22:30

Fulham was named Nickelodeon Family Club of the Year at the 2016 Football League Awards on Sunday evening.

The Whites beat Middlesbrough, Doncaster Rovers, Millwall, Stevenage and Oxford United to the accolade, which was received at a gala ceremony at Manchester Central in front of over 600 guests from clubs, sponsors and the football industry.

“We are thrilled and delighted to receive this prestigious award,” Sarah Brookes, the Club’s Communications & Marketing Director, said. “We have worked hard to ensure Fulham is accessible to all, with a particular focus on families who we view as a hugely important part of our fanbase.

“We are an affordable and enjoyable destination and will continue to think of new ways to maintain our successful Family Club status.”

In 2015, Fulham worked hard to successfully attract more young fans and their families to Craven Cottage, and broaden our engagement. The Club made improvements in all areas of family engagement from the match programme to ‘Here to Help’ stewards. The Family Zone was revamped and schemes like ‘My First Matchday’ were introduced, which offers first-time junior visitors a special behind-the-scenes tour of Craven Cottage.  

By using mystery shopper families, The Football League’s Family Excellence Award scheme acknowledges the clubs that are delivering a fantastic family matchday experience. The Nickelodeon Family Club of the Year award honours those clubs that are leading the way across The Football league in continuing to push the standard even higher to providing the very best experience for families.

The award was accepted by Fulham’s Senior Marketing Executive Jack Burrows, who commented: “It’s a privilege to have won this prestigious award, and it's testament to a lot of hard work that goes on behind the scenes.

“We're confident in our efforts, and we will continue to strive to deliver a first-class matchday experience for all our supporters, both old and new.”

Later on in the evening, Ross McCormack and Moussa Dembélé were beaten to the Player and Young Player of the Year awards by Burnley’s Andre Gray and Leeds United’s Lewis Cook, respectively.