Squad Numbers Confirmed

Friday 10 August 2018 12:00

Fulham’s squad numbers for the 2018/19 Premier League season have now been confirmed.

The team members who won promotion for the Club have largely retained their jerseys from last term, although Aleksandar Mitrović has taken his preferred number nine.

Many associate the striker with 45, the number he has worn throughout his career at Partizan Belgrade, Anderlecht and Newcastle United, but he only took those digits because nine was not available.

A typical, bruising number nine, it’s apt that Mitrović takes the famous shirt. “Nice number, isn’t it?” he said with a smile at his photoshoot upon re-signing.

That has seen Rui Fonte change to 17. It’s a nostalgic switch for the Portuguese, who wore it with such distinction during his time at Braga.

The number five shirt hasn’t been occupied by a centre-back since Richard Stearman departed the Club, but that’s changed now following Calum Chambers’ loan switch from Arsenal.

The 23-year-old was beaten through the door by Alfie Mawson, but the former Swansea City man opted to take 26, following previous incumbent – and fellow centre-back – Tomas Kalas’ return to his parent club.

André Schürrle has enjoyed success throughout his career wearing number 14, and we’ll be hoping that continues during his stay at Craven Cottage. Schürrle was given the digits at first club Mainz when he announced himself on the world stage, and won the Premier League in them at Chelsea.

Summer arrivals Luciano Vietto, Maxime Le Marchand and Timothy Fosu-Mensah have taken 19, 20 and 21 respectively, while left-back Joe Bryan has taken the first available number featuring a three; 23.

We have seen Jean Michaël Seri don the 24 jersey during pre-season and he will continue with that in the competitive campaign, with the same true of Fabri at 31.

Fellow shot-stopper Sergio Rico has been assigned 25, half the figure given to another member of the goalkeeping union Luca Ashby-Hammond.

Finally, our last signing of the summer window has taken his Marseille squad number with him, which sees André-Frank Zambo Anguissa wear 29.

Full squad list:

1. Marcus Bettinelli

3. Ryan Sessegnon

4. Denis Odoi

5. Calum Chambers

6. Kevin McDonald

7. Neeskens Kebano

8. Stefan Johansen

9. Aleksandar Mitrović

10. Tom Cairney

11. Floyd Ayité

13. Tim Ream

14. André Schürrle

17. Rui Fonte

19. Luciano Vietto

20. Maxime Le Marchand

21. Timothy Fosu-Mensah

22. Cyrus Christie

23. Joe Bryan

24. Jean Michaël Seri

25. Sergio Rico

26. Alfie Mawson

29. André-Frank Zambo Anguissa

31. Fabri

36. Luca de la Torre

43. Steven Sessegnon

44. Ibrahima Cisse

47. Aboubakar Kamara

50. Luca Ashby-Hammond

Related Content