Monday 30 January 2017, 7:00pm at Motspur Park, Surrey
Fulham FC
Adeniran 43'; Williams (pen) 84'
Swansea City
Garrick 25'

43' Goal

Dennis Adeniran

84' Penalty

George Williams

25' Goal

Jordan Garrick

George Williams' penalty earned Fulham an impressive victory over league leaders Swansea City in the PL2.

Fulham came from behind to beat league leaders Swansea City 2-1 at Motspur Park in a hard fought PL2 fixture on Monday evening.

Swansea initially took the lead with a deflected shot from Jordan Garrick in the 25th minute. Fulham bounced back with a goal just before the break, Dennis Adeniran with the strike.

The match could have gone either way but in the last 10 minutes it was deemed that Mattias Kait had been fouled inside the box, and a penalty was awarded to Fulham which was dispatched by George Williams.

Swansea arrived in London in good form having not dropped any points in the league since November 4th. Fulham, who were in second place and had not lost in five, were looking to rectify their 2-0 loss in the reverse fixture.

The match had a quick pace from the off, with full-backs Marlon Fossey and Adetayo Edun getting forward and putting balls in from the start.

Jesse Joronen was called into action in the fourth minute, having to shuffle across goal to push a shot wide from George Byers past the left post.

Not long after, the ball broke for Fulham and Joshua Walker on the left found himself in space and tried to curl the ball into the top right corner, but was a metre high.

Minutes later another attack from Fulham, this time on the other side, as Luca de la Torre drove into the box and pulled a ball back for Williams on the edge. The Welshman managed to keep his shot down but the ball ended up in the hands of the Swansea keeper Zabret.

Swansea started playing more cutting football, choosing good balls across the pitch and eventually from a corner a ball bounced to the feet of Garrick who struck well and a deflected goal gave the Swans the advantage in the fixture.

It took 15 minutes for Fulham to respond. Kait sprinted into the right side of the box and managed to get a pass away to Adeniran who was in the right place and hit his shot past the keeper to make it all square.

Shortly after half time Williams had a chance to take the lead at the edge of the opposition box but leaned back into the shot and sent it skywards.

Just before the hour mark Edun attempted to clear the ball in the area and hit it straight into a Swansea attacker, and it ricocheted onto the post, and a fingertip grasp from Joronen kept the ball out of the back of the net.

The game was end to end and could have gone either way, but the decisive moment came late on when Kait was needlessly pushed over in the box, with a clear foul given to Fulham.

Williams took the responsibility from the 12 yard spot and coolly dinked it into the back of the net as Zabret dived to his left.

It was hearts in mouths minutes later as it looked like Swansea’s Owain Jones was sure to score, but the ball was somehow dug over the crossbar by Aron Davies.

Fulham saw out the thoroughly entertaining fixture in the PL2 to beat leaders Swansea, and managed to put some distance between the teams below.

Match Information

Competition: PL2, Division 2

Date: Monday 30 January 2017
Kick-off: 7:00pm

Venue: Motspur Park, Surrey


Line-up: Joronen; Fossey, Davies, Jenz, Edun; Adeniran, Smile; De La Torre, Kait, Williams; Walker

Unused substitutes: Ashby-Hammond, Opoku, Thorsteinsson, Kweitniewski

Swansea City

Line-up: Zabret; Reid, Davies, Rodon, Roberts; King, Blair; Garrick, Byers, Jones; Biabi

Unused substitutes: Lewis, Thomas, Plezier, Maric, Cullen

Fulham (4-2-3-1)
  • 1Jesse Joronen
  • 2Marlon Fossey
  • 5Aron Davies
  • 6Moritz Jenz
  • 3Adetayo Edun
  • 8Dennis Adeniran
  • 4Joshua Smile
  • 7Lucas De La Torre
  • 10Mattias Kait
  • 11George Williams
  • 9Joshua Walker
  • 12Taye Ashby-Hammond
  • 14Jerome Opoku
  • 15Jon Dagur Thorsteinsson
  • 16Mikolaj Kweitniewski
Swansea City (4-2-3-1)
  • 1George Zabret
  • 2Tyler Reid
  • 5Keston Davies
  • 6Joe Rodon
  • 3Connor Roberts
  • 8Adam King
  • 4Ryan Blair
  • 7Jordan Garrick
  • 10George Byers
  • 11Owain Jones
  • 9Botti Biabi
  • 12Aaron Lewis
  • 13Lewis Thomas
  • 14Tom Plezier
  • 15Adnan Maric
  • 16Liam Cullen