Sunday 27 March 2016, 6:00pm at Toyota Stadium, Frisco
Everton U19s
Brewster 27', 71'
Fulham FC
Fulham U19s
Adebayo 84'

27' Goal

Delial Brewster

71' Goal

Delial Brewster

43' Yellow Card

Delial Brewster Card was given for diving

84' Goal

Elijah Adebayo

90'+2 Yellow Card

Moritz Jenz Card was given for a foul

62' Substitution

Player was substituted for tactical reasons
On:Jayden Harris
Off:Foday Nabay

62' Substitution

Player was substituted for tactical reasons
On:Elijah Adebayo
Off:Stephen Humphrys

72' Substitution

Player was substituted for tactical reasons
On:Shane Elworthy
Off:Luca de la Torre

74' Substitution

Player was substituted for tactical reasons
On:Isaac Pearce
Off:Josh Walker

82' Substitution

Player was substituted for tactical reasons
On:Moritz Jenz
Off:Jerome Opoku

87' Substitution

Player was substituted for tactical reasons
On:Cassian Thomas
Off:Jon Dagur Thorsteinsson

Fulham’s Dallas Cup adventure ended in disappointment as they were beaten 2-1 by Everton on Sunday evening.

Fulham’s Dallas Cup adventure ended in disappointment as they were beaten 2-1 by Everton in the Final on Sunday evening.

Delial Brewster had scored in either half to put the Toffees in control of proceedings, but substitute Elijah Adebayo gave the Whites hope late on.

In the end there wasn’t enough time to find the equaliser which would have forced extra-time, but Steve Wigley’s troops can return to England full of pride after a highly successful week full of some great results and wonderful goals.

Everton had the first sighter with less than three minutes played when Brewster found space in the box, but Jerome Opoku was tight to him and deflected his shot behind for a corner.

It was a game of few chances early on but in the 24th minute the Toffees were presented with another opportunity after Foday Nabay conceded a free-kick 25 yards from goal. Nathan Broadhead’s set-piece was well struck but just missed the target, brushing the top of the net on its way over.

The Merseysiders had enjoyed the better of the play and took the lead a few minutes before the half hour mark. Broadhead was unlucky to see his looping header come back off the underside of the crossbar, but Brewster reacted quickest to slot home the rebound.

Fulham had struggled to demonstrate their true attacking potential against a well organised Everton side, although Luca de la Torre had a glimpse of the goal in the 34th minute when Stephen Humphrys nodded the ball his way, but his volley from distance was wild and bent several yards off target.

Two minutes before half-time Brewster wanted a penalty when he went to ground under pressure from Ryheem Sheckleford. The referee was unimpressed, though, and booked the striker for simulation.

Soon after the restart Humphrys tried his luck with a spectacular overhead kick following a Marlon Fossey cross from the right, but it sailed some distance over the bar.

Broadhead responded in the 55th minute with some neat footwork to get away from Aron Davies and then Opoku, but he blazed his shot high and wide as he aimed for the postage stamp of the goal.

Three minutes later Fulham were indebted to Magnus Norman for keeping them in the game when he got down superbly to turn Liam Morris’ low curling shot behind for a corner.

The second half was proving to be something of an end-to-end encounter, and a fine Josh Smile ball over the top found Josh Walker in space. The forward tried the first time shot but was unable to lob Benjamin Pierce who caught his strike with ease.

Wigley then made a double switch to try and shake things up, replacing Humphrys and Nabay with Adebayo and Jayden Harris.

Fulham went as close as they’d gone all evening moment later through Jon Dagur Thorsteinsson. His 20 yard effort bounced right in front of Pierce, who just about managed to push it behind for a corner.

The 69th minute saw Brewster presented with a golden chance to double the lead when he burst in on goal, but his finish lacked composure and he dragged it well wide.

That miss clearly didn’t affect his confidence, though, as he rifled a powerful left-footed effort beyond Norman and into the far corner two minutes later.

The Whites then made two substitutions in quick succession, with Shane Elworthy coming on for de la Torre, and Isaac Pearce replacing Walker.

Two earlier introductions then combined as Adebayo teed Harris up 20-plus yards out, but his dipping left footed volley missed the target.

But then Adebayo halved the deficit to set up an exciting finale. The big man showed great strength in the area to shield the ball before turning and hitting a low strike that squirmed underneath Pierce and into the net.

Adebayo had one more chance in stoppage time when his physicality led to Pierce dropping a cross, but the Everton stopper was able to pounce on the loose ball before a man in yellow could capitalise.

Nonetheless, the Whites can leave Texas proud of their achievements as they reached the Final of the prestigious competition despite having one of the youngest squads at the tournament.

Match Information

Competition: Dallas Cup

Date: Sunday 27 March 2016
Kick-off: 6:00pm

Venue: Toyota Stadium, Frisco

Everton U19s

Line-up: Pierce; Yates, Lees, Yarney, Harrington; Baningime, Dennt, Kiersey, Morris; Brewster, Broadhead

Unused substitutes: Johnson, Mellen, Corke, Virtanen, Moore

Fulham U19s

Line-up: Norman; Fossey, Davies, Opoku (Jenz 82'), Sheckleford; Smile, Nabay (Harris 62'); de la Torre (Elworthy 72'), Humphrys (Adebayo 62'), Thorsteinsson (Thomas 87'); Walker (Pearce 74')

Unused substitutes: Ashby-Hammond

Everton U19s (4-4-2)
  • 12Benjamin Pierce
  • 14James Yates
  • 2Callum Lees
  • 4Josef Yarney
  • 3Ryan Harrington
  • 6Beni Baningime
  • 5Alexander Dennt
  • 8Jack Kiersey
  • 15Liam Morris
  • 10Delial Brewster
  • 9Nathan Broadhead
  • 1Matthew Johnson
  • 3Jamie Mellen
  • 7Jordan Corke
  • 11Miko Virtanen
  • 17Nathan Moore
Fulham U19s (4-2-3-1)
  • 1Magnus Norman
  • 12Marlon Fossey
  • 5Aron Davies
  • 4Jerome Opoku
  • 2Ryheem Sheckleford
  • 6Josh Smile
  • 8Foday Nabay
  • 7Luca de la Torre
  • 10Stephen Humphrys
  • 11Jon Dagur Thorsteinsson
  • 9Josh Walker
  • 3Shane Elworthy
  • 13Taye Ashby-Hammond
  • 15Cassian Thomas
  • 16Moritz Jenz
  • 17Isaac Pearce
  • 18Jayden Harris
  • 19Elijah Adebayo