Monday 23 April 2018, 1:00pm at Newcastle United FC Academy, Newcastle
Newcastle United
Newcastle United
Ward 77'
Fulham FC
Edun 90'+2

77' Goal

Dan Ward

75' Yellow Card

Stefan O'Connor Card was given for a foul

64' Substitution

Player was substituted for tactical reasons
On:Dan Ward
Off:Jack Hunter

82' Substitution

Player was substituted for tactical reasons
On:Yasin Ben El-Mhanni
Off:Callum Roberts

90'+2 Goal

Tayo Edun

46' Substitution

Player was substituted for tactical reasons
On:Ryan De Havilland
Off:Jaydn Mundle-Smith

Fulham missed out on the PL2 Play-Offs after failing to beat Newcastle United on Monday afternoon.

Fulham missed out on the PL2 Play-Offs after failing to beat Newcastle United on Monday afternoon.

The Whites needed to take all three points and hope results elsewhere went our way to have any chance of finishing in the top-five.

A clinical Tayo Edun strike cancelled out Dan Ward’s opener, but the draw wasn’t enough for Peter Grant’s boys.

Home goalkeeper Nathan Harker needed to be alert inside two minutes when a swirling cross got caught in the wind and threatened to drop under his crossbar, but he was able to tip it over.

Cameron Thompson then looked to capitalise on some good work by Edun, but he was crowded out in the area and his shot was blocked.

The Whites had the ball in the net shortly after the half hour mark only for the celebrations to be cut short. An incisive move ended with Thompson beating his man on the byline and crossing for Elijah Adebayo who nodded in, but the ball had just gone out of play in the build up and the goal was disallowed.

Adebayo was involved again moments later when he did brilliantly to pluck Steven Sessegnon’s cross out of the air. He managed to keep his balance and sent in a snapshot on the spin, but fizzed it inches over the bar.

Five minutes before the break the ball dropped nicely for Sonny Hilton 25 yards from goal. The midfielder went for the first time strike but drilled wide.

Fulham had bossed the first period and could have taken a lead into half-time had a recovering defender not managed to hack Jaydn Mundle-Smith’s cross-shot off the line.

Grant was forced into a change at the break as Mundle-Smith had appeared to tweak something with the aforementioned effort. He was replaced by Ryan De Havilland, with the switch seeing Jayden Harris drop to right-back, and Sessegnon moving over to the left.

Chances were at a premium in the second half, although Thompson should have broken the deadlock with quarter of an hour to go, but his close range header lacked power and didn’t trouble Harker.

That miss proved costly as the Magpies went straight up the other end to open the scoring. Magnus Norman made a brave stop but the ball fell kindly to Ward who was left with a simple finish.

The Whites exerted as much pressure as possible on their hosts thereafter and equalised in stoppage time courtesy of a fine Edun finish after Newcastle failed to clear a free-kick, but it was too little too late as the curtain came down on our PL2 campaign.

Match Information

Competition: PL2, Division 2

Date: Monday 23 April 2018
Kick-off: 1:00pm

Venue: Newcastle United FC Academy, Newcastle

Newcastle United

Line-up: Harker; Bailey (c), Yarney, Good, Gillesphey; Roberts (Ben El-Mhanni 82'), O'Connor, Hunter (Ward 64'), Wilson; Burlaser, Allan

Unused substitutes: Sangare, Huuhtanen


Line-up: Norman; Sessegnon, Davies (c), Atkinson, Mundle-Smith (De Havilland 46'); Hilton, Edun, Harris; Thompson, Adebayo, Thorsteinsson

Unused substitutes: Schwarzer, Davis, Santos-Clase

Manager: Peter Grant

Newcastle United (4-4-2)
  • 1Nathan Harker
  • 2Owen Bailey (c)
  • 5Jospeh Yarney
  • 6Curtis Good
  • 3Macauley Gillesphey
  • 7Callum Roberts
  • 4Stefan O'Connor
  • 8Jack Hunter
  • 11Adam Wilson
  • 10Dan Burlaser
  • 9Tom Allan
  • 12Mo Sangare
  • 13Otto Huuhtanen
  • 14Dan Ward
  • 15Yasin Ben El-Mhanni
Fulham (4-3-3)
  • 1Magnus Norman
  • 2Stephen Sessegnon
  • 5Aron Davies (c)
  • 6Robert Atkinson
  • 3Jaydn Mundle-Smith
  • 7Sonny Hilton
  • 4Tayo Edun
  • 8Jayden Harris
  • 10Cameron Thompson
  • 9Elijah Adebayo
  • 11Jon Dagur Thorsteinsson
  • 12Julian Schwarzer
  • 14Ben Davis
  • 15Ryan De Havilland
  • 16Nicolas Santos-Clase
  • Peter Grant